Fb Launches ‘Lock Profile’ Function in India for Higher Privateness

Fb Launches ‘Lock Profile’ Function in India for Higher Privateness


Fb has introduced a brand new “lock profile” function that can allow customers to guard their data on the platform from being seen by anybody who is not of their ‘pals’ checklist. This safety function is designed for “individuals in India, particularly ladies” who need extra management over their data on Fb, the corporate mentioned. The most recent profile safety function is touted because the successor of the Profile Image Guard – launched practically three years in the past. The safety function will probably be rolled out to all customers over the approaching days.

What does Fb profile lock function do?

Fb says that the lock profile function provides an additional layer of safety to the profiles on the platform. When the function is enabled, non-friends can’t zoom in, share, or obtain customers’ full-size profile image and canopy photograph. Equally, outdated and new posts may also be not seen by non-friends if the safety function is on.

Whereas Fb already gives a number of privateness choices that provide related safety enhancements, the brand new function will basically make issues a lot simpler, particularly for individuals who discover it arduous to navigate plethora of privateness choices on the platform.

“We’re dedicated to offering a protected platform for individuals to precise themselves, Ankhi Das, public coverage director, Fb India mentioned in an announcement. “We’re deeply conscious of the issues individuals in India, notably ladies, have about defending their on-line profile. At present, we’re asserting a brand new function which, in a single straightforward step, will give individuals much more management, guarantee their privateness and hold them protected and safe on-line.”

It is usually essential to notice that after customers allow the brand new function, all of the outdated public posts can solely be seen by pals. It’s unclear whether or not non-friends will be capable of ship messages by way of Messenger if the safety function is on. Fb within the assertion additionally said {that a} blue badge will probably be added to the profile web page to remind that profile is locked.

The place can I discover Fb lock profile possibility?

As talked about, the function is slowly being rolled out to the customers in India, nonetheless, its availability could be checked by tapping Extra beneath your Fb title. In case you spot the Lock Profile possibility, then it’s obtainable for you. Choose Lock Profile after which faucet Lock Your Profile once more to substantiate.

The brand new profile safety improve comes practically three years after Fb launched Fb Profile Guard. With the Profile Guard, non-friends can’t enlarge a profile photograph whereas taking a look at a person’s profile on Fb.



Supply hyperlink

Leave a Reply